Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

 

 

 

Meg Cabot’s very popular Princess Diaries series continues with Royal Wedding, the series’ first adult novel!

23215471
Photo from http://www.goodreads.com

The last time we heard from Mia, her and Michael Moscovitz had (finally!) gotten back together, she was heading to college to pursue her dream of writing, her family and friends were happy, and the future looked pretty bright!

Fast forward a few years, and it looks like Mia has a whole new load of problems. Here’s the synopsis:

In Royal Wedding, (Princess Diaries XI), Princess Mia’s planned nuptials to longtime love Michael Moscovitz are in jeopardy when the paparazzi uncover a startling secret: Mia has a long lost younger sister.

Now a scheming politico is using the royal scandal to force Mia’s father from the throne, leaving Genovia without a monarch . . . unless Mia can prove to everyone—especially herself—that she’s finally fit to rule.

Cabot is a genius, and one of the funniest writers I know. The series, which is told completely through Mia’s diary entries and text/email conversations (and the occasional magazine article or press release) is laugh-out-loud funny from beginning to end, and completely unique from anything else I have ever read. I was so excited when I heard that Cabot was continuing the series for adults. The previous Princess Diaries novels are favourites of mine and I while the last book, Princess Forever, left me feeling satisfied that everything was going to turn out for the characters we’d come to love, I am so happy we get to read more!

Royal Wedding is the same kind of crazy-fun and ridiculous plots that we love and expect to see in this series, and I loved every second of it. The wedding planning problems seem like nothing compared to the news of a long-lost sister, and the other surprises that Mia gets along the way (I won’t mention much more because spoilers, but I thought they were very well done and I myself was surprised and happy with what happened!).

I admit I was a little worried about Mia getting a new sister, and how that would factor into the story. However, Cabot didn’t disappoint, and introduced another great character (and series!) that fit perfectly with the story. Olivia is adorable and loveable, and I think her take on finding out she’s a princess will be entirely different from Mia’s, and just as enjoyable to follow.

It was good to learn what Lily, Tina, Boris, and of course, Clarisse, and the rest of Mia’s friends and family have been up to, (except for some sad news, which again, I won’t spoil!). I can’t express how happy I was to be back in this story. I didn’t realize how much I missed reading about Mia’s worries and insecurities, and her relationships with everyone. Loved, loved, loved it!

Fans of this series won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

